Online Training for Churches and Families

Each of the following training conference calls lasts approximately one hour including a presentation and a question/answer time with the staff.

 

STARTING A DISABILITY MINISTRY IN THE CHILDREN’S MINISTRY CONTEXT 

Thursday, April 18, 2019 
11 am ET  |  10 am CT  |  9 am MT  |  8 am PT 
Teacher: Ashley Belknap, Director of Engaging Disability With The Gospel 

Children’s ministries are often on the front lines of ministry to families touched by disability. Starting a disability ministry in the context of your children’s ministry makes sense strategically for many churches. Disability ministry actually helps children’s ministry thrive. 

This training will focus on starting with your church context and current programming and building your disability ministry in sustainable, gospel-centered ways. Disability ministry can make your children’s ministry stronger! 

In this online training we will cover: 

  • Assessing needs and building relationships with your families
  • Determining the first steps for your church
  • Better discipling and enfolding your children starting next Sunday

REGISTER 


CLASSROOM MANAGEMENT: A GOSPEL-CENTERED UNDERSTANDING OF BEHAVIOR

Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
8 pm ET  |  7 pm CT  |  6 pm MT  |  5 pm PT 
Teacher: Ashley Belknap, Director of Engaging Disability With The Gospel 

Our goal in children’s ministry is the effective discipleship of all our children. When there are challenging behaviors in the classroom, how can you manage them without taking away teaching time from the whole class? This online training will challenge the way you think about behavior and how behavior is shaped and changed. 

Almost every child presents challenging behavior from time to time. If you want to better understand the kids who have considerable difficulty being relaxed and engaged learners, this training is for you. 

In this online training we will cover: 

  • Understanding behaviors as communication
  • Strategies for increasing functional communication and reducing problem behaviors
  • Positive learning supports that will benefit every child in your classroom

REGISTER 


VACATION BIBLE SCHOOL: ENFOLDING KIDS WITH SPECIAL NEEDS 

Thursday, May 2, 2019 
12 pm ET  | 11 am CT  |  10 am MT  |  8 am PT 
Teacher: Ashley Belknap, Director of Engaging Disability With The Gospel 

Vacation Bible School is a great opportunity to take the next step in ministry with your families who live with disability. Join us for this online training as we discuss how to approach discipleship, friendship, and positive behavior supports in the week-long context of VBS. 

Topics we will cover: 

  • Developing a plan that works for your church and your children
  • Strategies for enfolding kids with special needs who arrive without notice
  • Training and equipping teachers and volunteers

*For those who attended our VBS training in 2018, please consider joining us again. And invite your volunteers and parents, too!  There will be significant new content that you won’t want to miss! 

REGISTER