Upcoming ESL Training Events

Regular ESL Training

MNA offers a 12 hour training to get you started in ESL ministry. You can either request a training at your church or check to see if there is one scheduled near you. They are normally done on a Friday night and all day Saturday.

In this training you will learn:

  1. How to start and maintain a fruitful ESL Ministry
  2. How to teach ESL to adult Internationals including:
    • a. How to place students in the proper fluency level classroom
    • b. How to Lesson Plan using professionally written curriculum
    • c. How to introduce new vocabulary & sentences using new vocabulary
    • d. How to get the students to generate their own sentences
  3. How to build authentic relationships with your students
  4. How to share the Gospel both inside and outside the ESL Classroom

You do not need to speak a foreign language or be a professional teacher to be a volunteer ESL Teacher. All you need to do is speak English and love Jesus and we can teach you the rest. This training is interactive. During the training you will practice the skills that you are learning, create two lesson plans for different fluency levels and come away excited to serve the Lord through ESL Ministry.

In addition to being a great training for new ESL Volunteers, this is a great  training for experienced ESL Volunteers to refresh their skills and be encouraged.

Professional Development Training

Teaching English Language Learners Professional Development Workshop has been developed for experienced church-based ESL teachers. It is a half day workshop to help learn and share new ideas for classroom activities, lesson planning, and evangelism-discipleship.

Prerequisites: This course is for teachers who have completed the MNA ESL training workshop at least twice and have at least two years of experience teaching in a church-based ESL program.

2018-2019 ESL Training Events

Regular Training

Jun 7-8 Cincinnati OH. Contact Bruce Lyman at 5stonesministry@gmail.com
Jun 7-8 Allentown PA. Contact Michele Anthony at manthony@faithchurchlv.com
Jun 7-8 Pompton Plains NJ. Contact Madeline Higby at mhigby65@gmail.com
Jun 28-29 Dallas TX. At PCA General Assembly Register Now
Jul 19-20 Perkasie PA. Contact Kristin Burleigh at kmoyer476@aol.com
Aug 2-3 Byrnes Mill MO. Contact Mary Beth Ferrara at mbferrara@att.net
Aug 2-3 Gaithersburg MD.  Contact Pam Wilbur at pwilbur@covlife.org
Aug 9-10 Austin TX.  Contact Susanna McBee at susanna.mcbee@gmail.com
Aug 9-10 Salisbury MD. Contact Ginger Jenkins at jenkinsginger@gmail.com
Aug 16-17 Dayton OH. Contact Wendy Erdman at wendy@erdmanns4health.com
Aug 16-17 Houston TX. Contact Axel Sotelo at axel@cepc.org
Sep 6-7 Marriottsville MD. Contact Barbara Cober at barbaracober33@gmail.com
Sep 20-21 Lancaster PA. Contact Rachel Bleeker at rachelb@westpca.com
Sep 27-28 Naperville IL. Contact Donald Limmer at drlimmer@hotmail.com

Professional Development Training

Events will be listed as information becomes available. For a list of all MNA events, click here. Questions about an ESL training event? Contact Nancy Booher at nbooher@pcanet.org.