Upcoming ESL Training Events

Regular ESL Training

MNA offers a 12 hour training to get you started in ESL ministry. You can either request a training at your church or check to see if there is one scheduled near you. They are normally done on a Friday night and all day Saturday.

In this training you will learn:

  1. How to start and maintain a fruitful ESL Ministry
  2. How to teach ESL to adult Internationals including:
    • a. How to place students in the proper fluency level classroom
    • b. How to Lesson Plan using professionally written curriculum
    • c. How to introduce new vocabulary & sentences using new vocabulary
    • d. How to get the students to generate their own sentences
  3. How to build authentic relationships with your students
  4. How to share the Gospel both inside and outside the ESL Classroom

You do not need to speak a foreign language or be a professional teacher to be a volunteer ESL Teacher. All you need to do is speak English and love Jesus and we can teach you the rest. This training is interactive. During the training you will practice the skills that you are learning, create two lesson plans for different fluency levels and come away excited to serve the Lord through ESL Ministry.

In addition to being a great training for new ESL Volunteers, this is a great  training for experienced ESL Volunteers to refresh their skills and be encouraged.

Professional Development Training

Teaching English Language Learners Professional Development Workshop has been developed for experienced church-based ESL teachers. It is a half day workshop to help learn and share new ideas for classroom activities, lesson planning, and evangelism-discipleship.

Prerequisites: This course is for teachers who have completed the MNA ESL training workshop at least twice and have at least two years of experience teaching in a church-based ESL program.

2018 ESL Training Events

Regular Training

Sep 21-22 Hudson NH. Contact Bruce Lyman at esl@crosspointac.org
Sep 21-22 Wilmington NC. Contact: Rebecca Chalk at Iambethchalk@gmail.com
Sep 28-29 Marco Island FL. Contact Don Baret at donaldbaret@att.net
Oct 5-6 Kinnelon NJ. Contact: Pastor Serafini at jb.serafini@gmail.com
Oct 12-13 Boerne TX. Contact Pastor Allen Taha at allen@trinityboerne.org
Oct 19-20 Augusta GA. Contact Beth Gore at beth.gore4@gmail.com
Oct 19-20 Westfield MA. Contact Amy Turner-Cooper at amyturnercoop@gmail.com
Oct 26-27 Willard OH. Contact Bruce Lyman at esl@crosspointac.org
Nov 2-3 Wilmington DE. Contact Lisa Grimsley at grimsley@udel.edu
Nov 2-3 Edmond OK. Contact Catherine Skinner at mskinner at mskinner8@juno.com
Nov 9-10 Houston TX. Contact Axel Sotelo at axel@cepc.org

Professional Development Training

Sep 29 Marriottsville MD. Contact Nancy Booher at rbooher@comcast.net. Registration.
Oct 20 Akron OH. Contact Bruce Lyman at 5stonesministry@gmail.com

Events will be listed as information becomes available. For a list of all MNA events, click here. Questions about an ESL training event? Contact Nancy Booher at nbooher@pcanet.org.